The Law Office of Albert A. Myers, III PC
is more than a typical law firm


About us

The Law Office of Albert A. Myers, III PC is a full service law firm providing knowledgeable representation in metropolitan Atlanta, Georgia. The attorneys at our Green Street Law Offices work diligently to defend your rights and protect your interest in legal matters in the east Atlanta area.

"The good lawyer is not the man who has an eye to every side and angle of contingency, and qualifies all his qualifications, but who throws himself on your part so heartily, that he can get you out of a scrape." ~ Ralph Waldo Emerson

Popular information

  • In the state of Georgia there are 13 grounds for divorce. One of these is "irretrievably broken [marriage]", or the no-fault ground.
  • Alimony in Georgia is either "rehabilitative" or "permanent"
  • Drivers with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08% or higher are considered alcohol-impaired by law.
  • 416 out of 1,493 auto-related fatalities in Georgia were alcohol impaired-related (28%)
  • All persons 14 years of age and older may make a legally binding Will
  • A person commits burglary by entering (or remaining) in a building or vehicle without permission and with the intent to commit a felony inside (a crime punishable by time in prison), or a theft.

Latest questions and answers

Attorney at Law

1What does "being of sound mind..." mean?

The law requires that in order for a person to make a Will he or she must have the mental capacity to understand what he or she is doing.

Just because one is elderly, intellectually challenged or eccentric, does not prohibit him or her from being able to make a Will. In addition, a diagnosis related to incapacity or insanity does not necessarily completely prohibit one from being able to make a Will if he or she has lucid periods and the necessary capacity at the time the Will is made. Making a Will and those witnessing that signature, are by their signature giving their word that they believe the person making the Will to have the necessary mental capacity.

2Will I be charged with burglary if I didn't take anything?

The crime of burglary occurs as soon as the defendant enters the building or vehicle with the intent to commit theft or some other crime, even if the intended felony or theft never occurs.

For example, a burglar who sneaks into a home but runs away as soon as the homeowner returns and does not take anything, has still committed the crime of burglary. Of course, if the theft or other crime is completed, then additional charges can be filed.

3What is considered a DUI in the state of Georgia?

Georgia's driving under the influence (DUI) laws make it illegal for drivers of all ages to operate motor vehicles if they have blood alcohol concentration (BAC) percentages of:

  • 08% or higher, if they're 21 years old or older operating regular passenger vehicles.
  • 0.04% or higher, if they're operating commercial vehicles.
  • 0.02% or higher, if they're younger than 21 years old.

  • 4What is considered a felony in the state of Georgia?

    In Georgia, a felony is most commonly defined as a crime punishable by imprisonment for more than twelve months. It can also mean a crime punishable by death or by life in prison.

    In addition to prison, probation, fines, and restitution, some common punishment for a felony conviction are as follows:

  • Community Service
  • Banishment From The Appropriate Judicial Circuit
  • Loss of the Right to Vote During the Term of the Sentence
  • Loss of the Right to Own a Firearm for Life
  • Loss of State and Federal Financial Aid for Your Education
  • Denied Admission or expelled from State Colleges and Universities for up to a year
  • Denied Admission to Certain Schools for Life (e.g. Law School)
  • Precluded From Certain Job Opportunities
  • Loss of Driving Privileges

  • 5Is a DUI a felony in the state of Georgia?

    In Georgia, Driving Under the Influence charges are generally misdemeanor offenses, but in certain circumstances, DUI can be charged as a felony offense. Facing criminal charges can be especially troubling because a conviction could potentially follow you for the rest of your life.

    For the most part, a first time DUI offense is charged as a misdemeanor, not a felony. There are some exceptions to this rule. For example, if a drunk driving accident caused someone to be injured, the charge against the driver could be raised to a felony.

    Albert A. Myers, III

    Lawyer


    Attorney Albert A. Myers, III has more than twenty-five years of experience in the legal field.